The Shape of the Ship

Radio Free My House

Been quiet for a minute around here, friends, and I apologize for that, but I’ve had good reasons, most of which come from that hot mess of cables pictured above.  After hemming and hawing about it for the better part of a year, I finally found somewhere that would give me some free hosting to try my feeble hand at podcasting.

It will not be much, it will not be exciting to anyone but me, and the free hosting I’ve got won’t get me very far for very long, but it’s a start.

So that’s where I’ve been, it should be up by the weekend, if not in the next couple of hours, depending on how much of a caffeine rush that bucket of Coke pictured above gets me.

And if I may, on the way out: I try never to advertise on here, but honestly, look at that tiny mic up there.  That is the Samson USB Go Mic, and it is a wee little powerhouse.  For the bare minimum I need, it’s perfection: does cardioid and omnidirectional recording, so whether I do solo or panel discussions, I can get a decent recording of it.  It’s not going to sound like I was in a radio studio, but it sounds damn well better than the tinny Rock Band mic I was trying to use earlier this week.  For serious, good stuff.

All right, back to work.  Even once it’s done and uploaded, it’ll be another couple hours to do the show pages.  I’ll let you know when you can hear it.

Leave a Reply

