Day Twenty-Five: A Song That Makes You Laugh

These concluding selections are losing steam, aren’t they? I blame the criteria in the meme more than my personal taste. A song that makes me laugh? Like what, am I supposed to be on some grade school, Weird Al or Dr. Demento type thing? Or maybe the weirder offerings the 90s provided while I was in high school and early university?

Honestly, what was college radio doing to encourage this sort of thing?

While I can certainly enjoy contemporary musical comedy and I love a good viral as much as anyone [marketers, can we retire ‘viral’ yet?], once you know the joke, it’s a matter of diminishing returns. And the restriction asks for a song that makes me laugh. Like, in perpetuity. So I’m picking something musical-esque that makes me laugh every single time I watch it.

When I was a kid, Eddie Murphy’s ‘Delirious’ was the forbidden fruit. Your parents would let you listen to Bill Cosby, maybe some Cheech and Chong cause they knew you wouldn’t get it, but that VHS copy of Delirious on your uncle’s dresser? Hell, no. So it wasn’t until the concert was long out of print and floating around on bootleg that I finally saw it in high school, when a couple of friends started dropping bits of it into conversation and I had no idea what they were talking about. So we went back to Greg’s house and watched it. And I thought I was going to die right there. I actually couldn’t breathe at multiple points.

The Lady and I watched Delirious again last week [I scooped up a copy when it was finally released on DVD in 2007] over dinner since the cable wasn’t hooked up yet in the new place. And it’s not perfect. It’s almost toxically homophobic, a fact Murphy has acknowledged in recent years and expressed regret for, but given the time of the concert’s filming [1983] and Murphy’s age at the time [23], I can cut him a little slack. So those parts go down a little rough 25 years later. But everything about his family, including the infamous cookout bit still holds up incredibly. As does his discussion of singers.

Eddie Murphy doing James Brown will make me laugh like an asshole everytime I see it. And to this day I can’t try to impersonate his Elvis bit with a straight face. So there you go, Eddie Murphy’s fictitious James Brown song is the song that makes me laugh.

Ell. Oh. Ell.

Leave a Reply

