Day Eighteen: A Song You Wish You Heard on the Radio

This will seem contradictory, but there isn’t much I don’t hear on the radio, if I really want to.  I know I was taking a chunk out of Toronto radio the other day, but it regularly surprises me with the offbeat song selections I hear, usually on 93.5.  Between the nightly Flowbacks, twice daily Critical Mixes with Starting From Scratch or the Chris Mix on the weekends, Flow does a surprisingly good job of going off book for a pop commercial radio station. There have been at least two times where hearing the last half of a song on Flow lead to a weeklong search for the track that turned out to be by some indie Canadian rapper.

So it’s not like I listen to my iPod, hear a song and think, ‘Damn, it’d be great to hear that song on the radio,’ which may say more about the growing irrelevance of commercial radio as a whole than just the consolidation of playlists. Everyone has an mp3 player now, the number of cars on the road with satellite radio is increasing all the time, like everything else in our lives, we can customize the music we hear at any time.  Don’t feel like listening to that song?  Put the iPod on shuffle and skip ahead, or try any of the six other XM stations that cater to that genre.  But I’m getting bogged down by my own thought process here.

If I’m going to pick a song I wish I heard on the radio, I’m going to approach it in the strictest sense of ‘RADIO AIRPLAY=GREATER EXPOSURE’ and pick a song I wish more people could be exposed to.  And while I don’t think this guy needs my help by any extent, I would love to see him crack the underground and get recognized for the national treasure he is quickly becoming.  Drizzy is cool, but how sweet  would it be if Shad was representing us on the world stage?  ‘Hip-hop ain’t dead, it lives in the north,’ indeed.

Four minutes, no hook and lyrics that hold their own against a beat that threatens to cave your skull in. Now, I’m a little troubled this album seems to be getting the press it has because it’s been knighted by the Broken Social Scene royalty [just like K-OS was on his second album] but that’s a discussion forthcoming.

One comment

Leave a Reply

