Day Twelve: A Song From A Band You Hate

You know what? We don’t even have to make this a big long anecdote. Because the wording of the stipulation leaves no margin for error.  We aren’t looking for a song by my least favourite band, we are looking for a band I hate. And I have one.

I hate Lynyrd Skynyrd.  With a passion typically reserved for animal abusers and big oil companies.  This likely has more to do with the fans than the music or band itself, but it’s too late for me to distinguish the two.

We have a saying in this house: when you see Ed Harris in a movie, it doesn’t mean anything good.  You doubt me, check his IMDB file.  When Ed Harris shows up in a movie, he’s either a hallucination, taking hostages on Alcatraz, getting people stranded in space, ripping off a real estate office or some other shady business. I’m telling you, you see the man on the street, don’t even ask him for an autograph. Just run.

I feel the same way about ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ that I do about Ed Harris.  When you see Ed Harris, some badness is coming.  When you hear those opening string picks, you know some dumbass is about to start some dumbassery, usually assisted by an off-road vehicle of some sort.  I’m loathe to even post a link here, but rules are rules.

Honourable Mention: For God’s sake, Skynyrd has a song called ‘That Smell.’  I can’t make this up, friends.

3 comments

  1. You’re hating on Skynyrd!?? People in these here parts of the province would give you a proper whuppin for that.

    Come on, you have to like Tuesday’s Gone, even just a little? That’s my favourite part of Dazed and Confused.

    Now if you say you don’t like Dazed and Confused…

  2. Dazed and Confused is all good in my house, my man. And it’s probably unfair to judge Skynyrd on the basis of some [most?] of their fanbase. But I’ve seen too many people flip ATV’s on a Sunday afternoon while Skynyrd played on WCSX Detroit to be fair.

  3. No doubt, no doubt.

    I wonder what would happen if you put a group of Skynyrd fans and Pillows fans in the same room? Just imagine the conversations!

    “Buddy, you’re spilling your generic light beer all over the place. Why don’t you sit down before you hurt yourself.”

    “What’s that, you want a wedgie?”

Leave a Reply

