Re:Definition

My original plans for this vehicle was to chronicle my ongoing attempts to create good fiction, and the struggles to find a home for it.  No linkfarming, no personal navelgazing.

Now something I knew when I started, but hoped this vehicle would alleviate, is that creating good fiction and finding a home for it is f**cking haaaaard!

But I still had hope.  And hope is cool, but hope without will is kind of useless.  These are things we learn in Green Lantern comics.

So while I’ll still be attempting to create and submit good fiction, the odd poem here and there, I also know that the first rules of blog success are regular updated in a consistent voice.  And I’ve sort of been lacking in that. In an attempt to rectify that, I’m going to lift my embargo on linkfarming.  That said, you will not find cute videos of bunnies riding in teacups at the county fair here [though those are completely awe inspiring].  I’ll be keeping the focus on books, and fiction, and the literary life at all levels of proficiency.  So let’s close some tabs, shall we?

Most enlightening today is a piece Pulitzer-winner [and personal hero] Junot Diaz wrote for Oprah magazine about his years of failure as he tried to write his novel.  The whole thing should be read, but this is the money shot: “You see, in my view a writer is a writer not because she writes well and easily, because she has amazing talent, because everything she does is golden. In my view a writer is a writer because even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway.”

The shortlist for the ‘Bad Sex in Fiction Awards’ have been announced. No surprise to find Philip Roth there.

My employer shudders as the Kindle arrives in Canada.

Because I can’t help myself, the AP lists all the errors found in Sarah Palin’s memoir.

And one from the archives: TC Boyle reads and discusses one of his favourite short stories, which is also my favourite short story, Tobias Wolff’s ‘Bullet in the Brain’, for the New Yorker fiction podcast in 2008.

Leave a Reply

